The NZSA New Zealand Heritage Literary Awards are now open for entries.

NZSA Canterbury announces the 2020 NZSA New Zealand Heritage Book Awards are open for entries.  Now in its seventh year, this event is now firmly established on the New Zealand Literary calendar. Past winners have included Fiona Farrell, Fiona Kidman and Brian Turner – and last year’s major winners were Andrew Crowe for his beautiful Pathway of the Birds and Witi Ihimaera and Whiti Hereaka for Pūrākau: Māori Myths Retold

In 2020 we are offering two new categories: a children’s book award and an award for a book which can be bilingual or fully in Te Reo. These join the traditional categories of fiction, non-fiction, short prose and poetry. All books linked to New Zealand’s heritage which have been published between 1 July 2019 and 11 September 2020 are eligible to enter.  We are not accepting books that are have only been published digitally. The competition opened on 1 July and closes on 11 September 2020. All entries should have some relationship with the theme of Christchurch Heritage Festival 2020: Encounter our Stories – Arts, Culture and Identity.

Details, entry form and terms and conditions, can be found here.


We meet every 3rd Tuesday of the month at a meeting room at the South Library . (Ask at reception to learn which room.) The general meeting runs from midday till 1pm followed by the committee meeting. We welcome new members. Feel free to come and observe.



As writers, sometimes half the battle is blocking out all the other things we could be doing, and putting words down, whether it be pen on paper, or fingers on keys.

We meet each Tuesday during the school term, from 9am to 12 noon. Join us in the Young Adults section at the South Library on Colombo Street.

Bring your laptop or notebook and something to work on. We truly do shut up and write… most of the time. And, bonus, RED Cafe does table service all the way down this end of the library!

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑