New Zealand Heritage Book & Writing Awards

Announcing the Winners for the 2017 NZ Heritage Book Awards and Writing Competitions…

Shortlisted Novels

Good Sons: A Novel of the Great War, by Greg Hall
Mary Egan Publishing.

Daylight Second, by Kelly Ana Morey
Harper Collins.

Leap of Faith, by Jenny Pattrick

Through the Lonesome Dark, by Paddy Richardson
Upstart Press.

Lewisville, by Alexandra Tidswell
Submarine/Makaro Press.


Decline & Fall on Savage Street, by Fiona Farrell

Shortlisted Non-fiction Books

Tuai: Traveller in Two Worlds, by Alison Jones and Kuini Kaa Jenkins.
Bridget Williams Books.

New Zealand’s Rivers: An Environmental history, by Catherine Knight.
Canterbury University Press.

Voices of Belonging: A History of Clevedon – Te Wairoa, by Jessie Munro.
Steele Roberts.

The Great War for New Zealand: Waikato 1800-2000, by Vincent O’Malley
Bridget Williams Books.

Head of the Harbour: A history of Governor’s Bay, Ohinetahi, Allandale and Teddington, by Jane Robertson.
Published by Philip King.


The Big Smoke: New Zealand Cities 1840-1920, by Ben Schrader.
Bridget Williams Books.


Shortlisted Poetry

Ancestors by Ross Henderson

But he was Frank by Mark Anthony Houlahan

The Passage South by Tim Jones

The Place of Starting Over by Tracy Chollet

Pilgrim’s Progression by Tony Hampton


Reading the Sky by Janet Wainscott


Shortlisted Short Prose

Arrival in Otakou by Melanie Dixon

Time is a River and I Am a Net by Jessica Maclean

On Tokatoka Hill by Caroline Barron

Lands of No Return by Coral Atkinson

A Gift of Life by Jenny Haworth


Pioneer Woman by Diana Duckworth


Congratulations to you all! Special thanks to BECA Christchurch Heritage Week and the Christchurch City Council. And we couldn’t do it without our wonderful judges! Sally, Gail, Jim and Fiona, thank you again!

Fiona had these kind words to say about the competition:

“It’s a great pleasure to have been asked to judge the New Zealand Fiction Heritage Prize. As a former recipient, I am very aware of the value of the prize, not just in monetary terms, but also for the recognition it brings to a book. I commend the New Zealand Society of Authors Canterbury Branch for this initiative, and hope the prize will become firmly established.” – Fiona Kidman


Blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: