Heritage Literary Awards 2020

NZSA Canterbury announces the 2020 NZSA New Zealand Heritage Literary Awards are open for entries.

Book: Non-fiction – judged by Hilary and John Mitchell – $1000 first prize
Book: Fiction – judged by Maxine Alterio – $1000 first prize
Book: Te Reo – judged by Hana O’Regan – $300 first prize
Books: Children’s – judged by James Norcliffe – $300 first prize
Short Prose – judged by Becky Manawatu – $200 first prize
Poetry – judged by Teoti Jardine – $200 first prize

The competition runs from 1 July and closes on 11 September 2020.

All entries should have some relationship with the theme of Christchurch Heritage Festival 2020: Encounter our Stories – Arts, Culture and Identity.

Entry Fees
Non-Fiction and Fiction Book – $40
Te Reo and Children’s book – $20
Short Prose and Poetry – $15

Heritage Awards Entry Form 2020

Shortlists will be announced on Monday 12 October 2020. Winners on Thursday 29 October, 7.30pm, at St Michael & All Angels, 95 – 99 Oxford Terrace, Christchurch, as part of WORD Christchurch Festival 2020.

All books are to be sent to NZSA Canterbury c/- 302 Lake Terrace Rd, Shirley, Christchurch 8061, with a completed entry form.

Short prose and poetry should be emailed to nzsacanterbury@gmail.com with a completed entry form, or posted to the above address.


For further information please contact: nzsacanterbury@gmail.com or Jenny Haworth (jjhaworth@xtra.co.nz).

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: